Wheel blog post

Artists take risks

Something I tried using in this project that I wasn’t so sure about was the stone wear clay. On the wheel we had used that kinda of clay to build. I wasn’t sure about this because I had only used the red clay before. I didn’t know if it would build differently or if it would be easier.

From using this clay I learned that I liked it better. The stone wear clay is easier to work with because of how soft it was. I remember one day in specific that the clay was hard and making a cylinder was almost impossible. The softer the clay was the easier it was to work with for me. Overall. this clay is just much smoother and I like the white look to it.

Artists develop art making skills

New processes I have learned while working on the wheel was pretty much just how to work on the wheel. Last year I barley worked on the wheel and when I did I didn’t know how to properly do it. This was basically a new thing for me. I went into it not doing it to well so I asked Mrs. A for help and ever since then I did very well. Unfortunately, I asked for help kinda of late.

Asking for help increased my skill tremendously. After I did that I was able to shape, raise, and even out my pots while making them. Without asking for help I would have gotten no where. I knew all the steps to be able to make a cylinder.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *